A Sneak Peek into TheshoeboxKitchen

I first have to say that this attempt at videography (our first) was inspired by our food blog heroes over at notwithoutsalt.  If you want to go see some extremely artistic foodies who really know what they’re doing (and post much more regularly than we do), go check them out.  Ashley and Gabriel, you truly inspire us!

Now, without further ado, here’s a little peek into our world.  This was a simple meal – BLTs – prepared for Jason’s mother, affectionately referred to now by her grandmother moniker, “LaLa.”  We hope you enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Sneak Peek into TheshoeboxKitchen

  1. Michele says:

    How much did I enjoy this? M U C H !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ya’ll need to go big-time! xoxoxox, Mimi in Augusta

  2. D Al says:

    Love!! And I have no idea why I’ve never thought to make my own pesto mayo… So thanks!!

  3. Hi guys, I really enjoyed the video. The sandwiches looked delicious. Nice call on the butterhead lettuce.

    Did you shoot the video on the DSLR? That focusing thing is tough with those, right? I wonder if you were trying to use AF or MF? Keep it up. I’d love to see more video.

    • Big Lu! Thanks for the feedback. Yes, I shot this video with my Nikon D7000. I focused manually with an 85mm f/1.4 lens and a 35mm f/2. It definitely takes some practice, especially on the shots with a shallow depth of field. I also have TONS to learn on the editing side – I really had no idea what I was doing on that end. One thing I did learn is that I should take clips of the same segment from various angles and then patch then together – I think that will improve the overall feel as well.

      Thanks for checking in! Say hello to Sharleen and the kids!

  4. Lovely video, I enjoyed the first bits a lot (bouncy baby, goes without saying). Good work (and awesome choice of music) for a first attempt!

Leave a Reply

